Friday, February 26, 2016

Book Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufmann and Jay Kristoff




Illuminae 
by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff  


★★★★★ 5/5 Stars

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes. 


It’s hard to describe Illuminae to other people because it’s a book that stretches across many genres.  The story starts out stressful and stays that way throughout the entire book.  I cried six times, gasped 20, and said “no no no no no” probably two or three times. I picked it up and did not put it down until I was done, and then I spent the entire next day ranting about it. It’s a space opera, evil robot story (sort of), contagion story (sort of), hacker story, and even YA romance all in one thick book.  
I loved the creative formatting.  I never felt bored by what I was reading and in face, some pages I read a few times just to make sure I got it right.  The format allowed for some chilling and impactful moments.  It's also an absolute beauty to look at.
This book is violent, a little scary, loud, and absolutely packed with action.  Fans of  Orson Scott Card, Ernest Cline, Isaac Asimov, and Ursula K. LeGuin will love this story.

3 comments:

  1. Eeep, I loved this one too!! It was SO uniquely done, omg, I absolutely hope that more books follow its example with unique formatting like this. I AM IN LOVE. I definitely was shrieking with that Ezra-twist. And AIDAN? omg, AIDAN. <3 I love that evil computer but it also terrifies me. XD

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! There were times reading that book that I had to stop reading and put the book down because it was so stressful!!!!

      Thank you for commenting!

      Delete
  2. Okay. I was intrigued by the last one, but this one has definitely just been added to my must-buy list. This sounds pretty much like a story written explicitly for me.

    ReplyDelete